Differences Between Primary, Secondary, Tertiary, and Quaternary Care Centre or Hospital


In the healthcare system, care is typically structured in a hierarchical model, comprising primary, secondary, tertiary, and quaternary levels. Each level is defined by the complexity of the medical cases they handle, the specialization of medical personnel, and the facilities and equipment available.


Here’s a brief overview of the differences between these four levels of care:

Primary Care:

  • Primary care is the first point of contact for patients within the healthcare system.
  • It involves the provision of general medical services by primary care physicians, nurse practitioners, or other health professionals.
  • Primary care focuses on preventive health measures, the management of common illnesses, and the overall coordination of healthcare services for the patient.
  • The goal is to provide accessible, comprehensive care over a sustained period of time, building a personal relationship with patients and their families.

Secondary Care:

  • Secondary care is more specialized than primary care and is typically provided by specialists after a referral from a primary care provider.
  • It includes hospitalization, routine surgery, and specialized outpatient consultations.
  • Secondary care hospitals have facilities for more complex procedures that are beyond the scope of the primary care setting.
  • The focus is on addressing specific health issues and providing treatment for conditions that require a higher level of expertise.

Tertiary Care:

  • Tertiary care offers highly specialized medical care over a short or extended period of time on a referral basis, usually for inpatients.
  • It encompasses advanced medical procedures, such as complex surgeries, cancer treatment, and specialized care for rare or severe diseases.
  • Tertiary care hospitals are equipped with sophisticated equipment and technology that support advanced diagnostics and treatments.
  • They are often university or teaching hospitals, engaged in research and the training of medical personnel.

Quaternary Care:

  • Quaternary care is an extension of tertiary care and is reserved for very uncommon or complex procedures and treatments.
  • It includes experimental medicine, uncommon surgical procedures, and advanced trauma care.
  • These services are highly specialized and are not available at all hospitals.
  • Quaternary care centers often serve a wider geographic area, offering services that may be unique in a region or country.

Differences in a Nutshell

  • Primary care is about general healthcare, secondary care is specialized but not highly so, tertiary care offers even more advanced levels of specialized care typically found in larger hospitals or academic centers, and quaternary care represents the rarest and most advanced form of specialized care.
  • The complexity and specificity of medical cases increase from primary to quaternary care.
  • Patient care settings transition from outpatient (primary) to inpatient as you move towards tertiary and quaternary care, reflecting the severity and complexity of conditions being treated.
  • The level of expertise and specialization of the healthcare providers increases with each level.


Primary Care:

  • First contact
  • General practice
  • Preventive care
  • Chronic disease management
  • Family medicine
  • Community health
  • Accessibility
  • Continuity of care
  • Coordination of services

Secondary Care:

  • Specialist services
  • Referral required
  • Inpatient and outpatient
  • Routine surgery
  • Specialized consultations
  • Regional hospitals
  • Diagnostic services
  • Short-term care

Tertiary Care:

  • Advanced medical care
  • Highly specialized
  • Referral centers
  • Teaching hospitals
  • Complex surgeries
  • Tertiary referral hospitals
  • Research
  • Subspecialties

Quaternary Care:

  • Highly complex procedures
  • Innovation in medicine
  • National and international referral
  • Cutting-edge technology
  • Rare conditions treatment
  • Experimental procedures
  • Quaternary care centers


  • Complexity of care
  • Level of specialization
  • Patient referral process
  • Treatment scope
  • Health care facilities
  • Resource availability
  • Care delivery setting
  • Medical equipment and technology
  • Geographic reach

1 thought on “Differences Between Primary, Secondary, Tertiary, and Quaternary Care Centre or Hospital”

Leave a Comment